Independent appointments to LGA governance structures

Each year the LGA Independent Group Executive Committee considers applications from its members for appointments to the LGA governance structures, as well as, outside bodies . All Independent Group members are able to apply to be considered for appointments.

For details on how to apply, please contact Sarah Woodhouse, Head of the Independent Group Office on 020 7664 3206,

View the full lists of our current appointments to LGA governance structures and outside bodies.

Independent Group elections

The Independent Group holds elections for the post of Group Leader, Group Deputy Leader and Group Treasurer, every other year. The next set of elections will take place between April and July 2017. Elections are open to all members of the LGA Independent Group for voting and standing purposes.

Notice of Election, which will effectively trigger the start of the LGA Independent Group election period, will be given on Monday 8 May 2017. Nomination papers will be made available on this page and from the Office of the Returning Officer.

The Returning Officer for the LGA Independent Group Elections 2017
Sarah Woodhouse

Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street
London EC1M 5LG
Phone: 020 7664 3206

Download the 2017 Group Election Guidance

Election timetable

Monday, 8 May 2017

  • Nomination papers available from the office of the RO and online
  • RO to email Group membership

Thursday, 25 May 2017, 5pm

  • Deadline for delivery of nomination papers (including personal statements)

Friday, 26 May 2017, 5pm

  • Deadline for withdrawal of nomination papers

Friday, 26 May 2017, 5pm

  • Publication of Statement of Persons Nominated

Monday, 29 May 2017, 2-3.30pm, Layden House, rooms A&B

  • RO briefing meeting with candidates

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

  • Printing of ballot papers

Thursday, 8 June 2017

  • Ballot papers posted out in case of contested elections

Thursday, 29 June 2017, 5pm

  • Deadline for receipt of ballot papers

Friday, 30 June 2017

  • Count

Tuesday, 4 July 2017

  • Declaration of election results at Independent Group AGM